The Lucan Drakenfeld novels:

“Drakenfeld is a flawed yet appealing hero and Newton has wrought a fast-paced fantasy thriller which should appeal to readers of C.J. Sansom”

– Independent on Sunday



The monarchies of the Royal Vispasian Union have been bound together for two hundred years by laws maintained and enforced by the powerful Sun Chamber. As a result, nations have flourished but corruption, deprivation and murder will always find a way to thrive.

Receiving news of his father’s death Sun Chamber Officer Lucan Drakenfeld is recalled home to the ancient city of Tryum and rapidly embroiled in a mystifying case. The King’s sister has been found brutally murdered – her beaten and bloody body discovered in a locked temple. With rumours of dark spirits and political assassination, Drakenfeld has his work cut out for him trying to separate superstition from certainty. His determination to find the killer quickly makes him a target as the underworld gangs of Tryum focus on this new threat to their power.

Embarking on the biggest and most complex investigation of his career, Drakenfeld soon realises the evidence is leading him towards a motive that could ultimately bring darkness to the whole continent. The fate of the nations is in his hands.

Retribution – coming soon


The Messenger – a Drakenfeld ebook short story


Legends of the Red Sun series:


Nights of Villjamur

First in the Legends of the Red Sun series, and my first proper novel. It’s a fantasy set in an ancient city, focussing on a cast of characters and how they deal with personal issues amidst larger events. It’s a little experimental, perhaps, especially with the prose, but there’s a new and much cleaner edition published in November 2012 – with the jacket pictured left.

City of Ruin

Second book in the Legends of the Red Sun series, though designed to work as a standalone, this fantasy novel sees things get a lot darker. For the genre taxonomy geeks out there, whilst not consciously a New Weird novel, I certainly hope that the sub-genre acts as an inspiration. Also, if anyone was going to read just one book of this series, I’d like it to be this one, as I’m really proud of it.

The Book of Transformations

Third in the Legends of the Red Sun series, and something of a change of gear: it combines a transgendered lead as well as a new group of heroes. The action moves back to Villjmamur, where there’s great political unrest and a series of strikes by anarchists begins.


The Broken Isles

Final book in the series, a return to Viliren, and which brings all the strands together for the big finale. Also features the Mourning Wasp.

For reviews of these books, head to the review section.